‘Doctor Who’ Return New Year’s Day 2020 On BBC One

Post by:
02 Dec 19

The 12th Season of Doctor Who will officially premiere on New Year’s Day 2020 the BBC One it has been announced.

The new series promises to start with a two-part “blockbuster action-packed” episode titled Spyfall, and sees Jodie Whittaker back charge of the TARDIS as Thirteenth Doctor. She is joined by her friends Ryan played by Tosin Cole, Yaz played by Mandip Gill and Graham played by Bradley Walsh.

The 12th series will welcome a host of famous faces including Stephen Fry, Sir Lenny Henry CBE, Robert Glenister and Goran Višnji?. Jo Martin (‘Holby City’), Anjli Mohindra (‘Bodyguard’, ‘The Sarah Jane Adventures’), and James Buckley (‘The Inbetweeners’) have also been announced as guest stars this year. Alongside the new faces, the Doctor will be meeting some familiar villains too, including the Judoon and the Cybermen.

Behind the cameras, the next series will also feature a mix of old and new faces. On the writing side Vinay Patel (Demons Of The Punjab), Ed Hime (It Takes You Away), and Pete McTighe (Kerblam!) will return from Season 11. They are joined by Nina Metivier, Maxine Alderton and Charlene James to pen Series 12. The season opener, Spyfall, has been written by showrunner Chris Chibnall. In addition, four new directors have joined the show – Emma Sullivan (‘Call The Midwife’, ‘Silent Witness’), Nida Manzoor (‘Enterprice’, ‘Lady Parts’), Jamie Magnus Stone (‘The Last Dragon Slayer’), and Lee Haven Jones (‘Shetland’, ‘The Bay’).

Doctor Who‘ Season 12 premieres Wednesday, 1st January 2020 (New Year’s Day) on BBC One (exact time TBC.) For our US cousins, the series will premiere on BBC America, January 1st 2020 at 8pm.