Doctor Who’s Michelle Gomez Joins Netflix’s ‘Sabrina The Teenage Witch’ Series

Post by:
16 Feb 18
Doctor Who's Michelle Gomez Joins Netflix's Sabrina The Teenage Witch Series

Doctor Who’s Michelle Gomez Joins Netflix’s Sabrina The Teenage Witch Series

Doctor Who’s Missy has landed another villainous part, this time across the Atlantic, as Michelle Gomez takes a role on Netflix’s Sabrina The Teenage Witch Series.

Based on the ‘Chilling Adventures Of Sabrina’ comic book, the as-yet-untitled reboot is a dark coming-of-age tale traffics in horror, the occult and, of course, witchcraft. It’s more in the vein of ‘Rosemary’s Baby’ or ‘The Exorcist’ than the lighthearted Melissa Joan Hart version of the 90’s. Sabrina must wrestle to reconcile her dual nature as a half-witch, half-mortal while fighting the evil forces that threaten her and her family.

Michelle Gomez is set to play Mary Wardell, who is Sabrina’s favourite teacher and mentor at Baxter High. When she is possessed by the devil’s handmaiden, Madam Satan, Ms. Wardell turns into a sultry, cunning manipulator, always trying to lure Sabrina down the Path of Night.

Along with taking over as Missy, the first female incarnation of The Master in ‘Doctor Who’, Gomez has also appeared on US tv in ‘Gotham’ as The Lady, and on UK tv in shows such as ‘Psychobitches’ and ‘Bad Education’.

She won’t be the only Brit joining Sabrina on the show. Relative newcomer Chance Perdomo has landed the role of Sabrina’s warlock cousin from England, Ambrose Spellman. He lives at the funeral home with the teen witch and her aunts after being placed under house arrest by the Witches Council. He’s described as “witty, puckish and pan-sexual, he is one of Sabrina’s partners in crime, always up for mischief.”

Gomez and Perdomo will join Kiernan Shipka (‘Feud: Bette and Joan’, ‘Mad Men’) who landed the titular role as Sabrina, and Jaz Sinclair (‘The Vampire Diaries’) who is playing Rosalind Walker, Sabrina’s best friend, and the empowered, outspoken daughter of Greendale’s minister.

No news on when the as-yet-untitled Sabrina The Teenage Witch series will land on Netflix, but we will let you know when we hear more.