Geektown Awards – Best Limited Series

Post by:
02 Jan 21
Geektown Awards – Best Limited Series

Geektown Awards – Best Limited Series

The next category you voted in was ‘Best Limited Series’. We define a ‘limited series’ as a show which either is a short run, one-off production or has a storyline which completely changes from season to season, such as an anthology series.

For the past two years, the winners of this category have won by a landslide, with ‘Chernobyl’ picking up the award last year with 50% of the vote, and ‘Bodyguard’ taking it the year before with 40%. This year the percentages were a bit closer between the top three shows, but despite having aired way back in January 2020, it seems the mesmerising allure of a certain Count is difficult to ignore…

Best Limited Series

Nominees: Des – ITV, Dracula – BBC One, Little Fires Everywhere – Amazon Prime, Mrs America – BBC Two, Normal People – BBC Three, Roadkill – BBC One, The Comey Rule – Sky Atlantic, The Outsider – Sky Atlantic, The Sister – ITV, The Stranger – Netflix, The Third Day – Sky Atlantic, The Undoing – Sky Atlantic, White House Farm – ITV

Bronze: Des – ITV

Silver: The Stranger – Netflix

And the Gold goes to …

Winner: Dracula – BBC One

Kicking off 2020, ‘Sherlock’ creators Mark Gatiss and Steven Moffat introduced us to a new version of the Dracula tale, inspired by Bram Stoker’s classic novel. Rather than a straight-up adaptation, speaking at MCM Comic Con, Mark paraphrased the great Eric Morecambe describing it as having “all the beats of the novel… but not necessarily in the same order…”

Starring Danish actor Claes Bang in the lead role of Dracula, the series begins in 1897 and sees English lawyer Jonathan Harker (John Heffernan – ‘Collateral’, ‘Dickensian’) travel to Transylvania to meet a new client… But the unsuspecting young man finds himself in a terrifying, maze-like castle, filled with undead Brides, and a vampire Count whose ambition is to conquer the new world.

Alongside Bang and Heffernan, the series starred Joanna Scanlan (‘No Offence’), Dolly Wells (‘Doll & Em’, ‘Pride and Prejudice and Zombies’), Sacha Dhawan (‘Iron Fist’), Jonathan Aris (‘Stan Lee’s Lucky Man’), Morfydd Clark (‘Patrick Melrose’, ‘The City and the City’), Nathan Stewart-Jarrett (‘Misfits’, ‘Utopia’), Lyndsey Marshal (‘Trauma’, ‘The League Of Gentlemen’), Chanel Cresswell (‘The Bay’, ‘This Is England’), Matthew Beard (‘An Education’, ‘The Imitation Game’), Lydia West (‘Years & Years’), Paul Brennen (‘Wild Bill’, ‘Happy Valley’), Sarah Niles (‘Catastrophe’, ‘Beautiful People’), Sofia Oxenham (‘Poldark’, ‘Grantchester’), John McCrea (‘Everybody’s Talking About Jamie’, ‘God’s Own Country’), Phil Dunster (‘Humans’, ‘Save Me’) and television newcomer Millicent Wong.