SDCC: Marvel Panel Showcases New Trailers, Films & Shows, And Update On MCU Phase 5 & 6!

Post by:
24 Jul 22

SDCC: Marvel Panel Showcases New Trailers, Films & Shows, And Update On MCU Phase 5 & 6!

At San Diego Comic-Con last night, Marvel revealed a whole lot more about the direction of the Marvel Cinematic Universe moving forward, along with dropping new trailers for ‘Wakanda Forever’ & She-Hulk, and news about some new tv shows and films.

The Multiverse Saga, Phase 5 & 6

First up, Marvel Studios President Kevin Feige revealed the overarching story (which has been pretty obvious from the recent films and shows) following Phase 1 to 3 ‘Infinity Saga’, will be the ‘Multiverse Saga’, and it will cover Phases 4 to 6. Phase 5 will kick off with ‘Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania’ on 17th February 2023, and continue through to 28th July 2024 with the newly announce ‘Thunderbolts’ film (more on that in a moment!)

Phase 6 begins on the 8th November 2024 with the ‘Fantastic Four’ movie, and will, once again, culminate in two Avengers films – ‘Avengers: The Kang Dynasty’ on the 2nd May 2025, and ‘Avengers: Secret Wars’ on the 7th November 2025. Here is a full timeline of the upcoming Phase 5 and 6 projects:

Phase 5

  • ‘Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania’ (Film) – 17th February 2023
  • Secret Invasion (Disney+ Series) – Spring 2023
  • ‘Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3’ (Film) – 5th May 2023
  • Echo (Disney+ Series) – Summer 2023
  • Loki‘ Season 2 (Disney+ Series) – Summer 2023
  • ‘The Marvels’ (Film) – 28th July 2023
  • ‘Blade’ (Film) – 3rd November 2023
  • Ironheart‘ (Disney+ Series) – Autumn/Fall 2023
  • Agatha: Coven Of Chaos (Disney+ Series) – Winter 2023/24
  • Daredevil: Born Again (Disney+ Series) – Spring 2024
  • ‘Captain America: New World Order’ (Film) – 3rd May 2024
  • ‘Thunderbolts’ (Film) – 28th July 2024

Phase 6

  • ‘Fantastic Four’ (Film) – 8th November 2024
  • ‘Avengers: The Kang Dynasty’ (Film) – 2nd May 2025
  • ‘Avengers: Secret Wars’ (Film) – 7th November 2025

Whist  Phase Five is pretty packed and has a number of newly announced things in there, Phase Six is obviously still a bit sparse at the moment, but will no doubt fill out more in due course. We also still have a few shows and films to drop before we hit Phase Five including She-Hulk: Attorney at Law (Disney+ Series) –  17th August 2022, ‘Black Panther: Wakanda Forever’ (Film) – 11th November 2022, and What If…?‘ Season 2 (Disney+ Series) – Early 2023. Announced, but currently missing from the timelines, are the Disney+ series Marvel Zombies and Armor Wars.

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever Trailer – 11th November 2022

In Marvel Studios’ ‘Black Panther: Wakanda Forever’, Queen Ramonda (Angela Bassett), Shuri (Letitia Wright), M’Baku (Winston Duke), Okoye (Danai Gurira) and the Dora Milaje (including Florence Kasumba), fight to protect their nation from intervening world powers in the wake of King T’Challa’s death. As the Wakandans strive to embrace their next chapter, the heroes must band together with the help of War Dog Nakia (Lupita Nyong’o) and Everett Ross (Martin Freeman) and forge a new path for the kingdom of Wakanda.

The movie will introduce Tenoch Huerta (‘Narcos: Mexico’, ‘The Forever Purge’) as Namor, king of a hidden undersea nation. The film also stars Dominique Thorne who has already been announced as playing Riri Williams aka Ironheart, alongside Michaela Coel (‘I May Destroy You’, ‘Chewing Gum’), Mabel Cadena (‘Monarca’, ‘Dance of the 41’) and Alex Livanalli (‘Ozark’, ‘Banshee’).

‘She-Hulk: Attorney at Law’ Trailer (Disney+) – 17th August 2022

‘She-Hulk: Attorney at Law’ stars Tatiana Maslany (‘Orphan Black’) as Jennifer Walters, an attorney specializing in superhuman-oriented legal cases, who must navigate the complicated life of a single, 30-something who also happens to be a green 6-foot-7-inch superpowered hulk.

The nine-episode comedy series welcomes a host of MCU vets, including Mark Ruffalo as Smart Hulk, Tim Roth as Emil Blonsky/the Abomination, and Benedict Wong as Wong, as well as Jameela Jamil, Ginger Gonzaga, Josh Segarra, Jon Bass and?Renée Elise Goldsberry.

New Marvel TV Shows & Film Announced At SDCC 2022

Along with giving a timeline to many of the previously announced content, Kevin Feige also snuck in a few surprise announcements (along with confirming some leaks!) Here are the new projects from the panel.

Agatha: Coven of Chaos (Disney+) – Winter 2023

This one isn’t so much a new announcement but is a name change. Back in November 2021, they announced ‘Agatha: House of Harkness’, but that has now been switched to Agatha: Coven of Chaos. The series stars Kathryn Hahn reprising her scene-stealing character of Agatha Harkness from ‘WandaVision’ in her own show. It is described as a “dark comedy”, and sees‘WandaVision’ head writer Jac Schaeffer return, and also exec produce.

Daredevil: Born Again (Disney+) – Spring 2024

Charlie Cox and Vincent D’Onofrio reprise their roles as Matt Murdock/Daredevil and Wilson Fisk/Kingpin in a brand new series for Disney+ coming in Spring 2024. News of this leaked a few weeks ago, but Feige has finally confirmed the return. Interestingly, this has been announced as an 18-episode Original series, making it the longest order of any live-action Marvel series to date. Whislt Cox and D’Onofrio were the only two stars confirmed at the panel, you can expect that Deborah Ann Woll will likely be back as Karen Page, along with Elden Henson as Franklin “Foggy” Nelson.

The show’s title, Daredevil: Born Again, is taken from Frank Miller’s iconic 1986 run on the book. However, that story was already loosely adapted for Season 3 of the Netflix series, so it will likely be a very different plot.

Captain America: New World Order – 3rd May 2024

‘Captain America: New World Order’ will see Anthony Mackie fully embrace his new role as Captain America on the big screen following the events of the ‘Falcon and the Winter Soldier’ Disney+ series. We don’t know anything about the plot at the moment, but the movie will be directed by Julius Onah (‘The Cloverfield Paradox’) and written by Malcolm Spellman (‘Falcon and the Winter Soldier’).

Thunderbolts – 26th July 2024

‘Thunderbolts’ will be the concluding film for Phase 5 and introduce an “exciting new group of heroes,” and (assuming it follows the comics), the team consists of mainly reformed supervillains. Jake Schreier (‘Kidding’, ‘Robot & Frank’) is attached to direct with Eric Pearson (‘Thor: Ragnarok’, ‘Black Widow’) writing the screenplay.

Characters which we have already seen on-screen which have been in the various comic book versions of the team include Baron Zemo (Daniel Brühl), Deadpool (Ryan Renyolds), Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner), Bullseye (Wilson Bethel), Green Goblin (Willem Dafoe), Luke Cage (Mike Colter), Ant-Man (Paul Rudd), Black Widow (Florence Pugh), Ghost (Hannah John-Kamen), Crossbones (Frank Grillo), Punisher (Jon Bernthal), Ghost Rider (Nicolas Cage/Gabriel Luna) and many more! I don’t know what direction they plan to take with this, but my gut feeling is that it could make a really fun first R-Rated venture for the MCU, much like DC’s ‘Suicide Squad’, but we’ll have to wait and see!

‘Avengers: The Kang Dynasty’ – 2nd May 2025 & ‘Avengers: Secret Wars’ – 7th November 2025

Lastly, we have ‘Avengers: The Kang Dynasty’ and ‘Avengers: Secret Wars’, the two films which will conclude the ‘Multiverse Saga’ and Phase 6. Both of these take their names from existing comic books. ‘Kang Dynasty’ was written by Kurt Busiek and ran from June 2001 to Aug 2002, whilst ‘Secret Wars’ was the name of 1984/05 miniseries by Jim Shooter, but was also used in 2015/16 run by Jonathan Hickman. How closely these will follow the comics, and which characters will form the Avengers team at this point is anyone’s guess!