Home TV News ‘House of the Dragon’ Renewed For Season 3 By HBO

‘House of the Dragon’ Renewed For Season 3 By HBO

by Dave Elliott

In news which I’m sure comes as a shock to no one, HBO has renewed House of the Dragon for Season 3 prior to the launch of Season 2 in a few days.

Based on George R.R. Martin’s “Fire & Blood,” the series, set 200 years before the events of “Game of Thrones,” tells the story of House Targaryen. As we return for season two, Westeros is on the brink of a bloody civil war with the Green and Black Councils fighting for King Aegon and Queen Rhaenyra, respectively. Each faction believes theirs to be the rightful seat on the Iron Throne, and now, “All Must Choose” their side of House Targaryen.

“George, Ryan, and the rest of our incredible executive producers, cast, and crew, have reached new heights with the phenomenal second season of House of the Dragon,” commented Francesca Orsi, Executive Vice President, HBO Programming, Head of HBO Drama Series and Films. “We are in awe of the dragon-sized effort the entire team has put into the creation of a spectacular season two, with a scope and scale that is only rivalled by its heart. We could not be more thrilled to continue the story of House Targaryen and watch this team burn bright again for season three.”

The returning cast for season two includes Matt Smith, Olivia Cooke, Emma D’Arcy, Eve Best, Steve Toussaint, Fabien Frankel, Ewan Mitchell, Tom Glynn-Carney, Sonoya Mizuno, and Rhys Ifans. Additional returning cast includes Harry Collett, Bethany Antonia, Phoebe Campbell, Phia Saban, Jefferson Hall, and Matthew Needham.

New cast this season includes Abubakar Salim as Alyn of Hull, Gayle Rankin as Alys Rivers, Freddie Fox as Ser Gwayne Hightower, Simon Russell Beale as Ser Simon Strong, Clinton Liberty as Addam of Hull, Jamie Kenna as Ser Alfred Broome, Kieran Bew as Hugh, Tom Bennett as Ulf, Tom Taylor as Lord Cregan Stark, and Vincent Regan as Ser Rickard Thorne.

Season two comes from co-creator/executive producer, George R.R. Martin and co-creator/showrunner/executive producer, Ryan Condal.Sara Hess, Alan Taylor, Melissa Bernstein, Kevin de la Noy, Loni Peristere, and Vince Gerardis also serve as executive producers.

The eight-episode second season of ‘House of the Dragon‘ will debut exclusively on Sky Atlantic and streaming service NOW on Monday, 17th June 2024 at 2am, simulcast with the USA, then have a second airing later in the evening.

You may also like

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments